Spain bank on Costa and Torres

Manchester City pair Alvaro Negredo and Jesus Navas will not be part of la Roja's team in Brazil after Vicente del Bosque confirmed who had been cut on Saturday.

Spain have announced their 23-man squad which will travel to Brazil this summer for the World Cup, with Diego Costa making the cut while Fernando Llorente, Jesus Navas and Alvaro Negredo will not feature.

Costa converted from a Brazil international to la Roja earlier this season and had a stunning season with Atletico Madrid, starring as they won La Liga, although he has been a major fitness worry for weeks now.

However, Costa has been picked to help Spain defend their crown in South America this summer, although Juventus forward Fernando Llorente and Manchester City striker Alvaro Negredo miss out.

Fernando Torres might not have had the best campaign at Chelsea but his performance against belarus on Friday may have helped sway Del Bosque as he will be part of the 23-man squad.

Atletico Madrid midfielder Koke, linked with Barcelona, is one of the relatively new faces in the Spain ranks, supported by veterans like Xavi, Andres Iniesta, David Villa and Gerard Pique.

Manchester City's Jesus Navas will be disappointed to have been considered disposable, though the likes of Juanfran Torres and Cesar Azpilicueta will be delighted be available to Spain.

Spain face Netherlands, Chile and Australia as they bid to defend the World Cup title they won four years ago in South Africa.

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas, Pepe Reina, David de Gea

Defenders: Sergio Ramos, Gerard Pique, Raul Albiol, Javi Martinez, Jordi Alba, Cesar Azpilicueta, Juanfran Torres

Midfielders: Koke, Xavi, Xabi Alonso, Andres Iniesta, Sergio Busquets, Cesc Fabregas, Santi Cazorla, Pedro Rodriguez, Juan Mata, David Silva

Strikers: Fernando Torres, David Villa, Diego Costa

Login Form


Share this post

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn