Nigeria name World Cup qualifier squad

Super Eagles manager Gernot Rohr has named returnee captain John Mikel Obi for the 2018 Fifa World Cup qualifying duels with Cameroon’s Indomitable Lions.


Germany-based defender Leon Balogun (above) returns after missing the World Cup qualifier against Algeria and the Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against South Africa while Rohr has largely kept faith with his regular army, including goalkeepers Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Dele Alampasu, defenders William Ekong, Elderson Echiejile and Abdullahi Shehu, midfielders Ogenyi Onazi, John Ogu, Wilfred Ndidi and Oghenekaro Etebo, and forwards Ahmed Musa, Moses Simon, Alex Iwobi and Kelechi Iheanacho.

Nigeria welcome the reigning African champions to the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium, Uyo, on Friday, September 1 before flying to Yaounde for a quick-fire return session on Monday, September 4.

The Super Eagles are top of Africa’s 2018 Fifa World Cup Qualifying Group B with six points after wins over Zambia and Algeria in their first two matches while the Lions lie second with only two points following 1-1 draws with Algeria and Zambia.

Seven other players have been placed on a standby list.

The full list:


Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Dele Alampasu (Cesarense FC, Portugal)


William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany), Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands), Elderson Echiejile (Sivasspor FC, Turkey), Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France), Ola Aina (Hull City, England)


Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel), Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)


Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England), Odion Ighalo (Chang Chun-Yatai, China), Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England), Anthony Nwakaeme (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)


Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium), Henry Onyekuru (Anderlecht FC, Belgium), Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea FC, England), Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United), Stephen Eze (FC IfeanyiUbah); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United)


Add comment

Security code

Login Form


Share this post

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn