CAF announce player of year nominees

Current holder Mohamed Salah has been put on a list of 34 players in the running for the African player of the year award.

The Egypt international won the accolade last year thanks in part to a stunning maiden campaign at Liverpool where he went on to score an incredible 44 goals.

Other big-name nominees announced by the Confederation of African Football include Salah's Liverpool team-mate Sadio Mane of Senegal.

Also on the list are Alex Iwobi of Nigeria, Mehdi Benatia of Morocco, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Riyad Mahrez of Algeria.

Madagascar striker Faneva Ima Andriatsima was also nominated and is a long-shot after his goals helped his country qualify for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, its first major tournament.

The list will be cut to three finalists and the winner will be announced on January 8 in Dakar, Senegal.


Abdelmoumene Djabou (Algeria and ES Setif)

Ahmed Gomaa (Egypt and El Masry)

Ahmed Musa (Nigeria and Al-Nassr )

Alex Iwobi (Nigeria and Arsenal)

Andre Onana (Cameroon and Ajax)

Anis Badri (Tunisia and Esperance)

Ayoub El Kaabi (Morocco and Hebei China Fortune)

Ben Malango (DR Congo and TP Mazembe)

Denis Onyango (Uganda and Mamelodi Sundowns)

Fanev Andriatsima (Madagascar and Clermont Foot)

Franck Kom (Cameroon and Esperance)

Jacinto Muondo Dala 'Gelson' (Angola and Primeiro de Agosto)

Hakim Ziyech (Morocco and Ajax)

Idrissa Gueye (Senegal and Everton)

Ismail Haddad (Morocco and Wydad Athletic Club)

Jean-Marc Makusu Mundele (DR Congo and AS Vita)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal and Napoli) 

Mahmoud Benhalib (Morocco and Raja Club Athletic)

Mehdi Benatia (Morocco andJuventus)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)

Moussa Marega (Mali and Porto)

Naby Keita (Guinea and Liverpool)

Odion Ighalo (Nigeria and Changchun Yatai)

Percy Tau (South Africa and Union Saint-Gilloise)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Arsenal)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria and Manchester City)

Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool)

Taha Khenissi (Tunisia andEsperance)

Thomas Partey (Ghana and Atletico Madrid)

Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia and Saint-Etienne)

Walid Soliman (Egypt and Ahly)

Wilfried Zaha (Ivory Coast and Crystal Palace)

Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto)

Youcef Belaili (Algeria and Esperance)

Add comment

Security code

Login Form


Share this post

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn