Ndlovu in South Africa squad

China based striker Dino Ndlovu was included in the 23-man Bafana Bafana squad to play against Seychelles in the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifiers this month.

"It doesn't matter where Dino is playing, whether it's in the 1st or 10th division. I have seen some of the goals he's scoring, they are good goals. I think he's worth his weight in the team," said Bafana coach Stuart Baxter.

Cape Town City midfielder Thabo Nodada’s impressive performance for his club did not go unnoticed as he was rewarded with a selection. Bafana currently are placed second in Group E behind Libya on goal difference with both teams on four points after two rounds of fixtures. The pressure is on Baxter’s men to deliver a positive result in their two matches against the Islanders. Failure to deliver a positive result could see them watch the 2019 Afcon on television.

Baxter has kept the bulk of the squad that played to a goalless draw against Libya last month in Durban. But Bafana Bafana will be without the services of midfielders Keagan Dolly and Bongani Zungu, who are both injured. Zungu also missed the clash against Libya.

"There have been a couple of challenges for us in terms of selection. Bradley Grobler and Themba Zwane are the players who haven't been included because of injury," said Baxter.

The first match will be hosted by South Africa and will be the played at the FNB Stadium on 13 October.

The return leg will be away in Seychelles on 16 October.

The two nations have only met once; back in 2005 in the Cosafa Cup tournament where Bafana Bafana ran out 3-0 victors, with a brace from Katlego Mphela on his debut, and the third goal scored by Lerato Chabangu.

Full Bafana Bafana Squad 

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SS Utd), Darren Keet (Wits).

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha, Thapelo Morena (Downs), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg), Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkwanazi, S'Fiso Hlanti (Wits), Innocent Maela (Pirates).

Midfielders: Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena (SS Utd), Lebogang Maboe, Hlompho Kekana, Sibusiso Vilakazi (Downs), Thabo Nodada (CT City), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford), Vincent Pule (Pirates).

Strikers: Lebogang Phiri (Guingamp, France), Dino Ndlovu (Hangzhou, China), Percy Tau (Royal Union, Belgium), Lebo Mothiba (Racing Strasbourg, France), Phakamani Mahlambi (Downs).

Add comment

Security code

Login Form


Share this post

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn