Baxter names strong Bafana squad

South Africa coach Stuart Baxter has named a strong squad to play Libya on 8 September at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in an AFCON 2019 Cameroon qualifier.

Maritzburg United's Siyanda Xulu has been rewarded with a call-up following a string of stellar performances.

Another notable inclusion Is Buhle Mkhwanazi who last played for Bafana Bafana in the 2014 CHAN where he was the only South African to be included among the substitutes of the CAF Team of the Tournament.

Siphesihle Ndlovu who had a good showing in the four nations tournament in Zambia also got recalled while the young Teboho Mokoena who has shown some maturity in his game at SuperSport United has also been invited by Baxter.

Livewire Percy Tau will make his return to South African soil a month after his much publicised move to Europe.

Also back for Bafana is midfielder Kamohelo Mokotjo who will be looking to cement his place in the team.


Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SS Utd), Darren Keet (Wits)

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha (Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg), Innocent Maela (Pirates), Thulani Hlatshwayo, S'Fiso Hlanti, Buhle Mkhwanazi (Wits)

Midfielders: Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena (SS Utd), Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg), Hlompho Kekana, Sibusiso Vilakazi (Sundowns), Bongani Zungu (Amiens, France), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford, England).

Strikers: Themba Zwane (Sundowns), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier, France), Percy Tau (Royal Union, Belgium), Lebo Mothiba (Lille, France), Bradley Grobler (SS Utd)


Add comment

Security code

Login Form


Share this post

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn